A Teenage Viewpoint on Gay Marriage

The movement to legalize gay marriage is growing quite fervently, with nine states now having it legal in addition to the District of Columbia and eleven countries allowing it internationally. Many parts of the world, however, still have homosexual acts illegal and punishable by death, yet some places in the world have approved gay marriage within their country with high numbers of up to seventy percent approval rate and unanimous legislative approval. Yet, how come the United States, constantly preaching liberty for all and equality, is so far behind on actually implementing equality?

The United States Supreme Court has announced that they will be hearing the California Proposition 8 Case of whether or not a constitutional ban on gay marriage is constitutional under federal law on March 26th, 2013, with the case questioning the constitutionality of the Defense of Marriage Act denying federal benefits from same-sex couples being heard the very next day. The outcome of these two cases could change the fate of gay marriage within America when the decisions are made in early June.

Nine states currently have legalized same-sex marriage within their borders. Nine out of fifty states. By calculation, that is less than twenty percent, compared to all states recognizing heterosexual marriage. Twenty, when compared to one hundred – well, it is clear that that by no means equal and fair. I am an avid supporter of same-sex marriage. I grew up in a Roman Catholic environment and to this day, I am a Roman Catholic. I understand religion and the concern that it may have in regards to same-sex marriage. I, myself, am a member of the LGBT community, and because I have exposed to both sides of arguments, I can fully and accurately make a decision of where to lend my support, and it will be in support of marriage equality.

I wholeheartedly respect the people who hold religious arguments against gay marriage. I don’t take it personally, that’s their belief and they are entitled to have it. My opinion is that if religious arguments are the ones being introduced in court and are the primary evidence to condemn gay marriage, then I feel it is enough on its own to be struck down because of the First Amendment to the Constitution prohibiting the establishment of a church. I am just as much Roman Catholic as everyone else who says they are, but after taking a class on law, I know that religious arguments won’t hold in court. Plus, the legalization of gay marriage would not infringe upon religious rights of people, because it does not affect anyone else but the gay people who want to get married.

The amount of hatred that religious people display towards gay people never fails to astound me. The Christians tend to judge homosexuals for their sins, yet in Matthew 7:11, it states to not judge, for judgement rests in the hands of the Lord. To put it into perspective, just because I love another girl the way I am supposed to love a guy doesn’t mean I am a bad person because there are so many other things in this world that are worse. If loving someone is the worst I can do, then it really isn’t that bad. God Himself reaches for love before He reaches for hate, so why don’t His followers?

I feel that God does not judge us by the amount of sins we do, or if we point other people’s sins out and try to “fix” them. I feel we are judged by the way we treat others and if we love them and try to understand them. Gay marriage would not destroy religion or Christianity, but rather, it would just preach love, something that God does. Something that Jesus did. In today’s times, filled with violence and war, love is a precious thing. It astounds me to know that we don’t, as a nation, value it as we should. The sex of a person when it comes to love should not matter.

I feel that the Supreme Court cases dealing with gay marriage that will be heard this year will be definitive of equality, for sure. I live in a state where voters had their voice heard in a referendum that recently banned gay marriage in a Constitutional amendment. I have high hopes that the Supreme Court will vote in favor of the legalization of gay marriage, because quite frankly, I love my girlfriend and I would love to marry her one day. The thought that that might not be able to happen – it doesn’t seem fair. I definitely feel the Equal Protection Clause will be under fire with many people over the next few months trying to interpret it. I do feel that if gay marriage were legalized, things will be okay. However, I do also feel that if the Court upheld both California’s Proposition 8 and DOMA, then the country would be in complete uproar for the coming years.

Leave a Reply

