God Grew Tired of Us

Welcome to the Modern Typewriter, a daily blog to discuss topics that can’t be answered easily, or are just some fun topics! Today is December 18th, 2008, I’m Royce, and I’m here to tell you about the Lost Boys of Sudan.

The Lost Boys of Sudan are thousands of boys who were considered refugees after the Second Sudanese Civil War, during the years 1983-2005.

“There is a movie that I recently watched God Grew Tired of Us. It was about these boys about in their teenage years being sponsored to move from a refugee camp to the United States of America. They were given an apartment stocked with their basic needs. It was an incredible story, to see these boys’ faces just light up with joy, to see them just be so thankful that the world helped them and cared for them. It was a great movie.” says Cody, a writer at the Modern Typewriter.

Approximately, 27,000 boys were now refugees during the war. They had to flee because of Muslim domination in the Northern part of the country. The Lost Boys fled to Kenya, where they were assigned a refugee camp. Estimating, 3,801 of the boys were sponsored to be transferred to the United States. They were scattered throughout 38 cities, averaging about one hundred per city.

“In the movie, God Grew Tired of Us, it actually puts a story on the face of three refugees. Just to be in their position and know their opinions and feelings, you can’t imagine what these boys have gone through. They have seen so much, been torn apart by war. Doctors say that this group of boys are the most war-traumatized group they’ve seen. It’s just terrible.” says Melanie, another writer.

“When I watch this movie, I think about how lucky I am, and how selfish I’ve been. For Christmas, I wanted a new cell phone. After I watch this movie, these refugees probably just want food for Christmas. It makes me feel guilty, and now I’m going to do everything I possibly can to help these people have a better life. I’m not going to just sit back while these people starve to death. It doesn’t make sense at all for me to do such a thing. These people deserve just the same as I do, so why can’t we give it to them?” says Jaycee, another writer.

Remember, I’m Royce, and this is the Modern Typewriter, OUT!

Picture Taken From: http://criticdocs.files.wordpress.com/2008/05/godgrewtiredofus.jpg

One comment

  1. I throughly enjoyed this story, and i thank you for telling about it. I used some quotes for a blog.

Leave a Reply

