The Book Thief…By Markus Zusak

Welcome to the Modern Typewriter, a daily blog to discuss topics that can’t be answered easily, or are just some fun topics! Today is December 11th, 2008, I’m Royce, and I’m here to tell you about a book that I recently finished reading.

The Book Thief, by Markus Zusak goes into detail of the life of Liesel Meminger, a girl who in the beginning loses her brother to a deadly cough. When she watches the grave diggers bury him in the deep snow, one of them drops a book known as the Grave Digger’s Handbook. She picks it up and takes it. This is her first book.

“Oh my goodness, I love this book! It is so terribly sad at the end! I cried!” said Karina, a writer at the Modern Typewriter.

“I remember reading this book last year. This was such a good book. It was beautifully written, I loved it. I reccomend it to anyone.” Said Cody, another writer.

The book is in the perspective of Death, the collector of souls. And the book is during World War 2, so Death is flying around quite a lot. Death does not like the job assigned to him.

I went around to ask the Modern Typewriter team about their thoughts and opinions on the book, since we were all assigned to read it last year. The opinions were of a large, mixed variety.

“This book was one of the best books I have ever read in my entire life. It was incredible to read, I just wanted to read it all the time. I couldn’t put it down once I picked it up. It is the book that steals your attention right away.” says Rochester, a writer.

“I hate this book because it made me cry at the end! It was so sad and heart-breaking. It surely had an effect on the reader once read. I wanted to change the story to a happier ending.” said Melanie, another writer.

“The author was brilliant when writing this. That’s all I’ll say.” said Jacob, an editor.

“The perfect novel: action, adventure, romance, very well written.” says Jaycee.

Well, you heard our opinions! Now for yours! Comment back if you read the book, or if you just want to know more!

Remember, I’m Royce, and this is the Modern Typewriter, OUT!

One comment

  1. ooooooooooooooohhhhhh, return it so i can check it out. u finally finished it!

Leave a Reply

