Jennifer Roy’s Creation…

Welcome to the Modern Typewriter, a daily blog to discuss topics that can’t be answered easily, or are just some fun topics! Today is November 12th, 2008, I’m Jaycee, and I’m here to review a book called Yellow Star, by Jennifer Roy.

Yellow Star is a wonderfu,l poetic re-creation of the horrors of the Holocaust, during World War 2. It is placed during the time of the beginning of the Holocaust, until the end, liberation. The narrator is Syvia Perlmutter, and when she is just 5 years old, she is forced to move into the Lodz, Poland ghetto. When the war ended and they were free, she was ten. There were 800 survivors of the Lodz ghetto, twelve were children.

“I’ve read this story so many times, I’ve lost count. I love it so much, it is so fascinating what a young child of war has to say, and Jennifer Roy wrote it perfectly, it was about her aunt, I believe. Every time I read this terrifying story, I not only get chills, I just can’t stop reading. It is a great book and I reccomend it to anyone who loves books.” says Melanie, a writer at the Modern Typewriter.

“The storyline is just incredible. Anyone who loves a great book will love this story. My friend reccomended it to me, and I thought ‘Oh great a story about a little girl’. Because I don’t like to read stories about girls, but once I read it, it was awesome.” says Royce, another writer.

It has been awarded many honors, such as The Boston-Globe Horn Book Award, the Sydney Taylor Book Awards Honor Book, and many more!

“One word to say: incredible.” says Rochester, another writer.

Remember, I’m Jaycee, and this is the Modern Typewriter, OUT!

Picture Retrieved From:http://levinejudaica.com/catalog/images/yellow%20star.jpg

Leave a Reply

