The Eiffel Tower

Welcome to the Modern Typewriter, a daily blog to discuss topics that can’t be answered easily, or are just some fun topics! Today is January 29th, 2008, I’m Jason, and I am here to talk about the Eiffel Tower, in France.

One of the most recognizeable structures in the world, the Eiffel Tower stands in Paris, France. Constructed in 1887-1889, Gustave Eiffel built this magnificent tower.

Since its construction, over 100,000,000 people have visited the Parisian pillar. And more intend to come in the new year of 2008. This makes the Eiffel Tower the most paid/visited monument in the world.

During the World War 2 years, Adolf Hitler conquered Paris. The French cut the ropes to the top, so Hitler and some Nazis had to manually climb to the top to hang the Swastika, the Nazi symbol. Soon, the flag blew away and the Nazis replaced the flag with a smaller one.

Have you ever been to the Eiffel Tower? Do you want to go? Leave a comment to express your opinion!

Remember, I’m Jason, and this is the Modern Typewriter, OUT!

Picture Retrieved From: http://tinyurl.com/yngaux

2 comments

  1. I read your interesting blog. No, I haven’t seen the Eiffel Tower… yet, and yes, I would love to see the Eiffel Tower. I don’t know why I am so fascinated by it. Perhaps it is the architecture or it’s the look of lace, but actually is made of iron and steel. I have been wanting to go to Paris since the 7th grade, we’re talking 1973! I’m in the process of painting this magnificent gem on canvas… Happy trails if you go to Paris!

  2. Mr. Pawan Lakhera · · Reply

    Good i read your blog. Its imging information for me . I haven`t see the tower. If have a chance to come Paris i have must visit this palce. And movement was really rememberable.

    Thaks a lot …………

Leave a Reply

