Snow Finally Falls After 100 Years!

Welcome to the Modern Typewriter, a daily blog to discuss topics that can’t be answered easily, or are just some fun topics! Today is January 14th, 2008, I’m Anna, and I am here to talk about the current event of snow falling in Baghdad, Iraq for the first time in a century.

Snow delighted the people of Iraq on Friday, January 11th, 2008. The people think it is a sign of peace.

“A few minutes ago, I was covered with snowflakes. In my hair, on my shoulders. I invite all people to enjoy peace. Because snow means peace.” says Iraqi Hassan Zahar. Quote taken from Reuters.

Why would the Iraqis first think of peace when the snow fell? Would you want to think peace was near? Leave us a comment to express your opinion!

Remember, I’m Anna, and this is the Modern Typewriter, OUT!

Picture Retrieved From: http://tinyurl.com/287eab

One comment

  1. ligsisis · · Reply

    They probally thoght it was a sighn of peace beacuse of the war that is going on over there. If I was living in Iraq at that time I would probally want to think it was a sighn of peace too. And hopefully it is a sighn of peace beacuse I really think that the soldiars in Iraq should come back to the U.S and that there really is no good reason George Bush is keeping them there.
    What do you think is the best way to make peace in Iraq?

Leave a Reply

